The Federal Commission on Migration FCM was established on the 1st of January 2008. It was created through the merging of the former Federal Comission for Foreigners FCF with the Federal Commission for Refugees FCR.

The FCM is an extra-parliamentary commission. It advises the Federal Council and the public administration on questions of migration and publishes reports, position papers and recommendations.

The FCM is made up of thirty migration experts appointed by the Federal Council. Nearly half of the commission members have experienced migration in their own lives. Walter Leimgruber, who is head of the Institute for Cultural Studies and European Anthropology at the University of Basel, has been president of the commission since January 2012.

The FCM is supported by a secretariat, which is administratively attached to the Federal Office for Migration. The secretariat is managed by Simone Prodolliet.